Saturday, January 14, 2012

European Association of Hospital Pharmacists (EAHP) celebrates 40 years

European Association of Hospital Pharmacists (EAHP) will be celebrating its 40th Anniversary in 2012.

To mark this occasion, EAHP will be preparing a comprehensive history of the association.

European Association of Hospital Pharmacists is a working community of national associations of hospital pharmacists. Its membership includes representatives of national hospital pharmacy associations in almost all the European Union (EU) member states, in addition to Switzerland, Norway, Serbia, Turkey, Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic Of Macedonia (FYROM) and Bosnia Herzegovina .

Membership is increasing each year and, at present, EAHP represents the interest of over 21,000 hospital pharmacists in 31 countries all over Europe.

At a scientific congress in Strasbourg a number of hospital pharmacists from different European countries decided that they should establish a new European association to represent their common interests. Thus in 1969, the seeds of EAHP were sown. On 6 March 1972, the representatives of six European countries signed the first Statutes of the European Association of Hospital Pharmacists, in The Hague, The Netherlands.

The first President of EAHP was Marcel Lebas from France. The first member countries were Belgium, Britain, Denmark, France, the Federal Republic of Germany and The Netherlands. In 1973, Ireland and Spain joined EAHP, soon followed by Norway, Greece, Austria, Sweden and Switzerland. In the 1990s, Italy, Portugal, Hungary, Luxembourg, Finland, Slovakia, Slovenia and the Czech Republic became members. More recently, Bulgaria and Bosnia Herzegovina became members of EAHP. Membership within EAHP is open to countries members of the Council of Europe. On the 1st of August 2011, the EAHP officially became an International Not-for-Profit Organization, and adjusted its policy to better face modern challenges.

Message of the President

40th Anniversary of EAHP: The Past and the Future

Dr. Roberto Frontini, President